10 things that happen when you have braces

Pois é! Janeiro trouxe um novo ano e a mim trouxe-me uma armadura metálica nos dentes de baixo.

Fui ao dentista para saber porque é que as minhas gengivas sangravam em especial numa área. Descobri que o único dente torto que tinha estava a causar muitos problemas. Resolvemos tirar. Mas para tirar precisei de pôr aparelho para fechar o buraco que ficou e endireitar os vizinhos do falecido que já estavam cansados de o empurrar.

Eu não sou de me queixar (cof cof), mas respeito muito mais todas as pessoas que tiveram de usar aparelho quando eram mais novas. Em especial os que o usaram em toda a dentição e alguns com a armação exterior. Isto não é fácil. Descobrir que à beira dos 30 vou ter de conviver com esta armadura dentária não é algo que se espera.

Desde então aconteceram 10 coisas:

  1. os meus ésses soam assobiados e é uma gozaria para quem tem o mínimo de confiança comigo. (eu não me importo, mas se tivesse 5 anos aposto que seria considerado bullying!);
  2. a comida enfia-se no buraco e em todos (sem execpção) os brackets que tenho;
  3. passei a escolher a comida pela textura e moleza em vez de ser pelo sabor;
  4. dou por mim a ficar calada em conversas porque os brackets me começam a incomodar ao serem esfregados nas bochechas;
  5. descobri que a cera/silicone que há para cobrir os brackets e proteger as bochechas vai ser o meu maior aliado;
  6. dormir de lado na almofada já não é a posição mais confortável do mundo e babo-me muito mais durante a noite (sexy, hum?);
  7. lavar os dentes é um investimento de tempo e destreza muito maior;
  8. já tenho saudades de tudo o que é comida que não convém comer (pipocas!!);
  9. de cada vez que como algo com pedaços mais duros e encontro um pedacinho na boca penso que um bracket se soltou (mini-ataques de pânico a cada refeição);
  10. penso duas vezes antes de comer seja o que for, por causa da logística associada.

Enfim, toda a gente me diz que uma pessoa se habitua e eu acredito nisso. Vamos lá então!


Oh yeah! January brought a new year and with it came a metal armor to my lower teeth.

I went to the dentist to find out why my gums bleeded especially in one area. I found out that the only crooked tooth I had was causing a lot of problems. We decided to take it out. But to take it out I needed to put braces to close the gap that remained and straighten the neighbors of the lost tooth who were already tired of pushing him.

I’m not complaining (cof cof), but now I respect so much more everyone who had to use braces when they were younger. Especially those who used it in every tooth and some  even had an outer frame. This is not easy. Finding out that almost at the age of 30 I will have to live with this dental armor is somewhat unexpected.

Since then, 10 things have happened:

  1. My “s” sound whistled and anyone who has the least confidence with me gets to mock me. (I do not care, but if I was 5 years old I bet it would be considered bullying!);
  2. Food gets stuck in the gap and in all of the brackets that I have;
  3. I began to choose food by texture and softness rather than by taste;
  4. I find myself being silent in conversations because the brackets begin to bother me when they rub themselves on my cheeks;
  5. I discovered that the wax / silicone that exists to cover the brackets and protect the cheeks will be my biggest ally;
  6. Sleeping sideways on the cushion is no longer the most comfortable position in the world and I drool a lot more at night (sexy, huh?);
  7. Washing your teeth is a time investment and requires much greater dexterity;
  8. I already miss every food that I should not eat (popcorn !!);
  9. Every time I eat something with harder pieces and find a little piece in the mouth I think a bracket has come loose (I get mini-panic attacks at every meal);
  10. I think twice before eating anything, because of the associated logistics.

Anyway, everyone tells me that one gets used to it and I believe it. Let’s go then!

4 thoughts on “10 things that happen when you have braces

  1. I used to love my braces, I would get a natural pout from the braces pushing them out. But I agree, the food stuck in my braces is a big no no. The worst was when I used to eat oranges…

    I wrote something about my pet peeves of commuting in London. Check it out at tootinghustle.wordpress.com and let me know what you think!

    Happy blogging x

    Liked by 1 person

Deixe uma Resposta

