10°C of Spring in Sweden

A Primavera está a chegar. Tudo aqui grita que a Primavera está aí. Mas para mim ainda é Inverno… para mim, chegámos ao Inverno de Portugal.

No ínicio da semana, li um artigo que avisava sobre uma subida nas temperaturas. Ri-me. Principalmente porque a definição de Primavera aqui é passar mais do que 7 dias com temperaturas acima de 0°. Hoje estão 10° e está tudo maluco.

Ontem saí de casa e estavam 15°. Juro que olhei 3 vezes para o placar luminoso na rua e pensei que estava com problemas. Aqui há um sinal de + antes dos números quando são positivos. Só para confimar. E sim, estavam mesmo 15° – dois dígitos de temperatura positiva. Para mim, foi óptimo, acabei por passar quase 3 horas na rua com o Rio – o cão que estou a ajudar a treinar duas vezes por semana.

Mas há outros sinais que mostram que a Primavera está aí. As lebres saem da toca e correm por todo o lado. Não estou em posse dos números da população de lebres na Suécia, mas deve ser bem elevada. Só ontem, vi três – numa área industrial. Ao pé da nossa casa já vi duas (e bem grandes).

snowdrop-275144_640
Snowdrops (Galanthus)

Depois há as flores. Os Suecos compram imensas flores, é uma característica que acho adorável, mas ao mesmo tempo não os vejo a dar muito valor ao cuidar de estação para estação – compram e, quando murcham ou morrem, deitam fora. Repeat.

Um dos grandes sinais de que o Inverno está a arrumar as botas nesta terra, são as “Snow Drops”. A mãe do O. disse-me que são as flores que sinalizam a chegada da Primavera.

 

Com os dias de sol a serem mais frequentes, até compreendo que se troque o cachecol de lã pelo lenço de algodão, mas t-shirt e calções como tenho visto… ná.

Ainda hoje, a caminho do trabalho vi um estóico viking a andar de bicicleta de tshirt. Ele ía à minha frente e eu tomei consciência das diferenças entre nós. Saí de casa com o casaco mais fresco a achar que já estava a ser uma grande maluca, trouxe as luvas mais fininhas e em vez do gorro, apenas uma fita de lã para proteger as orelhas. Troquei o cachecol de lã pelo lenço, mas mantive as duas camadas em camisolas. E mesmo assim! O solinho é bom, mas o vento é frio.

Da minha janela (no trabalho) vejo muita gente a passar para o autocarro, para casa, para a escola… ainda não vi ninguém com luvas hoje e já vi muita gente sem casacos. Eu? Eu estou a trabalhar com uma mantinha nas pernas. 

pug-801826_1280

Spring is coming. Everything here screams that spring is arriving. But for me it’s still winter … for me, we are arriving to the Portuguese winter.

At the beginning of the week, I read an article that warned about a rise in temperatures. I laughed. Mainly because the definition of spring here is to spend more than 7 days with temperatures above 0 °. Today, it´s 10° C and people are loosing their minds about it.

When I left home, yesterday, it was 15 °C. I swear I looked three times to the bright billboard in the street and thought there was something wrong with it. Here, there is a + sign before the numbers when they are positive. Just to assure you that they are positive. And yes, it was even 15 °C two digits of positive temperature. For me, it was great, I ended up spending almost 3 hours on the street with Rio – the dog that I am helping train twice a week.

But there are other signs that spring is coming. The hares come out to play and run everywhere. I am not in possession of the numbers of the population of hares in Sweden, but it should be quite high. Yesterday alone, I saw three – in an industrial area. Close to our house I have already seen two (and very large ones).

Then there are the flowers. The Swedes buy a lot of flowers, it is a feature that I find adorable, but at the same time, they don´t value the gardening process from season to season – they buy them and when they die, they throw them away. Repeat.

One of the major signs that winter is about to be gone, are the “Snow Drops”. O.’s mother told me that these are the flowers that signal the arrival of spring.

With sunny days to be more frequent, I understand that people replace the wool scarf for a cotton one, coming out in t-shirt and shorts, as I have seen … nah.

Even today, on my way to work I saw a stoic Viking cycling with only a t-shirt. He was going in front of me and I became aware of the differences between us. I left home with the coolest jacket (thinking that I was already being a bit crazy), brought the thin gloves and instead of a wool cap, I wore just a strap to protect the ears. I replaced the wool scarf with a light one, but kept the two layers of sweaters. And I though I was cutting it short! The sun feels nice, but the wind is cold.

From my window (at work) I see a lot of people going for the bus, home, to school … I have not seen anyone with gloves today and I’ve seen a lot of people without coats. Me? I’m working with a blanket on my legs.

Deixe uma Resposta

